Image of Early Statutes
Photo: Andrew Houston

Our constitution, legal framework, and decision making bodies

Ƭ is a charitable corporation, established by Charter as a place of education, religion, learning, and research.

Like other educational institutions, the College operates from a legal framework that defines its status in law. It is a registered charity and its  is 1137462.

The College Charter

The College was initially established by Royal Charter, in the form of letters patent granted to Bishop Alcock in June 1496. This granted the right to create a new College in place of the Priory of St Radegund, which had been dissolved.

The College Statutes

These set out the College’s purpose and some of the process by which it is governed. Statute I.1(a) states that Ƭ “is a place of education, religion, learning, and research”. Information to be found in them includes:

  • The membership and responsibilities of the Society and Council
  • The election and duties of the Master, Vice Master, and President
  • The election, admission, and removal of Fellows
  • The appointment and duties of College Officers and of the Educational Board
  • The duties of College Members
  • The student disciplinary process
  • Financial powers and arrangements
  • Procedures for the employment and dismissal of academic staff.

Read the Statutes.

The College Regulations

Regulations have the same force as the Statutes. Information that may be found in them includes:

  • The election of Junior Members of the College Council
  • Residence requirements and other aspects of students’ conduct
  • Lists of scholarships, exhibitions, prizes, and grants
  • Ƭ Capital Fund
  • Disciplinary and grievance procedures for academic and other staff.

Read the Regulations.

The Society and the College Council

The Master and Fellows (The Society) are responsible for the running of the College. The Society as a whole is headed by the President who is elected by Fellows and holds office for one year.

The College Council is responsible for the control and management of the College’s affairs. It is made up of the Master, the President, the Senior Tutor, the Bursar, the Steward, twelve members elected by the Society and four resident members of the College (representing undergraduate and postgraduate students).

Council is advised by committees made up of Fellows, with appropriate staff and students in attendance.

Please contact the Freedom of Information Officer, Ƭ, Cambridge CB5 8BL or email foi@jesus.cam.ac.uk.

Hear from our students